Main Menu

Children’s Ministry Network


Who are we?

The Children’s Ministry Network (CMN) began in June 2011. The Network is comprised of a representative from each diocese nominated by the Bishop and also a member of the House of Bishops, the Board of Education Secretaries, the Church of Ireland Youth Department Ministry Co-ordinator and up to three co-opted members including a representative from the Sunday School Society.

What do we do?


SUPPORT: Through the Network, there should be a relational approach to supporting grass roots leaders, diocesan representatives and clergy who are engaged in children’s ministry. The Network highlights the important role of clergy in promoting and supporting children’s ministry within their parishes. The Network recommends that each diocese should have a well resourced Children’s Ministry Representative.

TRAINING: There should be opportunities for parish and diocesan based training designed and delivered appropriately to meet local requirements.
The Network has set itself an aim to implement a local training event in each diocese within the next two years. It believes much could be achieved by extending and sharing existing training programmes.

RESOURCES: The Network aims to provide up-to-date information on a range of curriculum and other resources for use in children’s ministry in parishes. This website is used to announce details of training events throughout the dioceses and provide recommendations / reviews of suitable resources as well as the contact details of the diocesan children’s ministry representatives.


Diocesan & Network Representatives:-

Chairperson of the Network: Bishop Alan Abernethy;

Centrally: Lydia Monds;

Armagh – Rev Barry Paine;

Clogher – Frances Boyd;

Derry & Raphoe – Archdeacon David Huss;

Down & Dromore – Julie Currie;

Connor – Jill Hamilton; or

Kilmore, Elphin & Ardagh – Mrs Joanne Quill;

Tuam, Killala and Achonry – Rev Jennifer McWhirter;

Dublin & Glendalough – Rev Baden Stanley;

Meath & Kildare – Rev Janice Aiton;

Cashel, Ferns & Ossory – Rev James Mulhall

Cork, Cloyne & Ross – Rev Elaine Murray

Limerick, Ardfert & Killaloe – Rev Jane Galbraith;

Children’s Ministry Consultant – Tammi Peek;

CIYD Representative – Amy McCrea;

Sunday School Society Representative – Lynn Storey;

Board of Education NI – Mr Peter Hamill;

Board of Education RI – Dr Ken Fennelly;